The Builder for September 27th

Another successful Kiwanis year came to a close at last night's Installation of Officers Dinner held at the Best Western Inn on the Bay.

LGE  Susan Davey and P Don Sweatman

Director Paul Matthies and K Penny Garvin were our door greeters. President Don welcomed 45 Kiwanis members and guests for an evening of laughter, Legion of Honour awards, inductions and words of thanks to all who made the year a great success.

PP Jack Tweddle lead us in an invocation, reminding us that we are entering into our 94th year of service to Owen Sound.

K Jim McManaman brought greetings from the City of Owen Sound as Mayor Ian Boddy was held up in committee meetings.

Director Paul Matthies receives his perfect attendance award

He recognized our continuing partnership with the City and how it has helped to make our community a better place for families because of it.

President Don awarded perfect attendance awards to several Kiwanians from one year of perfect attendance for Secretary Tim Sobie to up to 15 years for International Trustee Gary Levine. Many Kiwanians were mentioned and as we is not an exact science.

DT Gail Norris McKeown

Legion of Honour Awards were presented to District Trustee Gail Norris for 25 years, P Don 30 years, and IT Gary 30 years. It was noted by DT Gail that the PP Dave Parsons will receive his 40 year award and PP Elwood Moore, his 60 year award, in the near future.

During the President's address Don outlined the numerous activities completed over the past 12 months in service to our community.

From all of the hard work at our campground, our fundraising and hands on service projects, OSHaRE to Terrific Kids, he congratulated the club. P Don reminded us of all the new babies born each day that need the support of clubs such as ours. He encourages us to continue to serve and find others to join with us. He recognized several Kiwanians for their service.

P Don thanked DS Julia Levine for her eight years of service as club secretary. He also gave IT Gary a thank you gift for his work on the International Board. It included the Las Vegas sign that stated he was Outstanding Club Opener, a sign rescued off the wall by Karen Sweatman. Members signed it as they were leaving.

DS Julia Levine with P Don

K Russ Pierson thanked outgoing Director Past Treasurer Paul Kirk and current Treasurer Fred Druyf for their service. PLG Linda van Aalst presented P Don with a thank you gift from the club. PP Andy Drury thanked P Don's wife, Karen, for her support of the club as well.

K Penny Garvin and Secretary Tim Sobie

LGE Susan Davey inducted the new Board. Assistering her with the pinning was Penny Garvin. PP Paul Strimas was welcomed as VP. K Tim Sobie is now Secretary Sobie. PP Gord Harris was not able to attend but will be returning to the Board.

IT Gary Levine inducted our newest member, Tim Brown. PP Paul Strimas, his sponsor, spoke to us about Tim's personal and professional story.

K Stew Andrew outlined the history and meaning of the builder's apron. K Jim McManaman presented the new member certificate. K Penny Garvin gave K Tim his name badge and folder. Inside he will find a new member application to invite a friend to join. P Don officially pinned Tim and IT Gary capped it all off with a Kiwanis ball hat. After the dinner, members had an opportunity to sign Tim's apron.

New Member Tim Brown

President 2018-2019

Michelle Kobryn

Incoming President Michelle has been crowned as the next leader of our club. She spoke about the need for change to be relevant to the needs of new members while recognizing the importance of the history of our club to current members. P Michelle pledges to expand our membership and she encourages members to make suggestions on how we can better serve our community. She wants to hear from you!